About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Win a Free Signed Copy


“Do you feel a great desire – or even a need – to write? Creativity and self expression are wired into the human psyche. As a fledgling writer you may have burning questions about your place in the world of publishing as it is now: – How do I know if what I have to say deserves to be published? – Should I try to find a publisher or self-publish? – What might life be like after my book is in print? – What is a reasonable goal for my book, and can I achieve it? – How on earth will I find the time to complete my book? Be An Author addresses these questions and more through a series of interviews with other authors, just like you, who are writing and promoting books today. Some of these authors are published others are self-published, what they have to say about the experience is both enlightening and encouraging. This is not a ‘how to’ book – it’s a ‘what would it be like if …’ book. In its pages you may just find what you need to inspire and motivate you to fulfil your potential as an author.”

Today I’d like to announce that I’m giving away a signed copy of Be An Author to one lucky winner. In fact, if there is enough interest I will extend this and give away two copies. This giveaway will be open for one week, so entried will close at 10am UK time on Wednesday 13th February 2013. To enter, all you have to do is leave a comment below. On the closing date I will use the random number generator to select the winner, and contact them for their address. I am happy to post anywhere in the world, so don’t be shy, let me know if you would like to win a copy.

UPDATE : This contest has now closed. The winners are announced here, but this week only you can download the Kindle version of this book free on Amazon UK or Amazon.com (ends Sat 23rd March 7am UK time). You can also find out more about Be An Author and a selction of extracts are collected together here.

Comments on: "Free Book Giveaway – Be An Author" (40)

  1. What a fabulous idea! Sure, sign me up as a contender :)

    • Thanks Jess – you’re in the draw!

    • Sethu S R said:

      Hi Anne,

      I seemed to have mised out on a golden opportunity to be in contention for a freebie. Hope I’m not one of those people on whom lady luck never smiles upo. Heres’ hopin somethin’ comes up for me in the near future from your stable

      • Hi Sethu, Not to worry – there will be a giveaway on the Kindle version of the book (which you can also read on your computer) starting next week. I will be putting up a post as soon as it starts, so keep an eye out for that.

  2. I like this idea, as alot of us have these ideas that are struggling to go out but the fear of publishing this to the world might be a real challange to these authors :) Please sign me too as a contender.

    • It can be very daunting to take the big step to put your work out there – but the results can be very rewarding. You’re in the draw – good luck!

  3. I often find that I can stifle my potential and dreams because of the fear of what lays around the corner – This sounds like a great book to get me back on track.

  4. Miss. Lucinda Fountain said:

    I would like to thank you so much for this fantastic giveaway, which i would love to be entered for! I am currently writing my first novel (in a series), and so any advise would be most useful.

    I started planning and then writing the first 2 parts in November of last year (for “National Novel Writing Month’) in which i stuck to a daily goal of 2,000 words and by the 27th i had completed 50,35 words. I am now continuing and can empathize with published authors how hard it is to write a book – it is extremely hard. One has to be dedicated and determined i feel, but also there are moments (i.e “writers block”) where you do feel like throwing paper at the Computer!

    I am aiming to 1. complete it! and 2. the traditional publishing route. Having NO experience whatsoever in how to go about writing and publishing a book(s), this certainly would be most helpful.

    Thank you x

    Email: lfountain1(at)hotmail(dot)co(dot)uk

    • Congratulations on getting so far with your novel Lucinda! I’ll be reviewing some resources that might be helpful to you in the forthcoming weeks, and in the meantime you’re in the draw.

  5. Krystihollow said:

    Wow, thanks so much for this, I would like to participate :)

  6. Meghan Stith said:

    I would LOVE to win a copy! My email is mesetith@gmail.com

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  7. Mary Preston said:

    Please count me in. A fabulous opportunity thank you.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  8. I am intrigued!

  9. I would love to be entered! Thanks so much for the fantastic giveaway!

    misusedinnocence@aol.com

  10. Sure I would like a book about writing and becoming published. Books like these are inspiring.

  11. [...] there already, I am running a giveaway this week for a copy of my book Be An Author, so why not enter the draw whilst you’re [...]

  12. so nice of you to have a giveaway. count me in please. Thanks

  13. I would love to win this one,thank you for thinking about us.

  14. Wanda Banks said:

    Thank you very much for giving me the opportunity to win a wonderful book. Thanks in advance! ;)

  15. icemaidencakes said:

    I’d love to win – might be the kick up the rear that I need :D

    • Hi, we all need either a kick up the rear or at the very least a little bit of motivation every now and again. I’m happy to put you in the draw. :-)

  16. Since my location qualifies as being in the world, I’m happy to sign up to be in the draw :-)
    I like interviews of those who have taken a path before me.

  17. [...] Just a quick reminder that the giveaway for a signed copy of Be An Author to be sent anywhere in the world finishes tomorrow morning, Wednesday 13th February 2013, at 10am UK time. For more details and to enter see this post. [...]

  18. Would love a copy!!!!

    • Hi Harman, sorry but this contest is now closed. I’ve put an update in the post with some links – you can read some extracts on the blog. I will post any future giveways that happen on this blog, so keep an eye out and there might be another opportunity in the future.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

