About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Writing in my Head

You might be forgiven for thinking that I haven’t started writing this book yet. I’m going through a process which involves quite a few steps before the main part of writing the book, so it’s true to say that I haven’t typed a word of what will end up as the book into my computer. If you’re following along with the process you might think there are good reasons for that, as I do. I have to confess, though, to writing in my head.

Having started seems to have given impetus to my imagination or subconscious mind. I don’t know the book structure yet, or by any means what is going to be in it, but snippets are occurring to me. I have a good idea of the last couple of sentences, for instance. Some of the snippets have sneaked themselves (in rainbow colours) into the middle of the other steps I have been writing in my notebook – which seems like a good thing, to me. That way if I were to get stuck in the writing I would have some prompts to go back to.

I am curious to know if anyone else does this, and where you are most likely to be or what you might be doing when words start writing themselves in your head. For me it will be any time my brain is not fully engaged with something else, which I am slightly concerned to say includes driving. How about you?

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

