About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Today I am meeting up with my Dad, who is staying in our part of the world on a walking holiday. My older son is also coming along with his friend, and we will be walking in the sunshine and by the sea. I’m really looking forward to it. Here’s a picture from the walk we did on Monday – this is when we were walking in light rain in the morning, not the heavy rain of the afternoon. Today, luckily, the forecast is fine.
As well as walking, though, I shall be doing some other things.

  • Wishing I could see Dad more often
  • Trying to find out if having a break has helped him prepare mentally for going back home to his role as carer for my stepmum, who has Alzheimers
  • Finding words inadequate to express that I love him and wish there was more practical support I could offer, but hoping that he understands anyway

I do what I can to support Dad, but it never feels like enough. Phoning regularly is important but it doesn’t allow him to express how he’s doing as my stepmother is close by. So I will arrange to visit him in October, and hope that we will be able to get out on our own while I am there. And still it won’t feel like enough.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

