About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

I’m back this week, Friday Fictioneering courtesty of http://madison-woods.com/photo-prompt-for-the-fridayfictioneers-11/>Madison Woods, who hosts this weekly event.

Todays photo prompt is copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and the usual conditions apply.

Crit is welcome as I’m getting a little braver now you have all been so nice to me, and I need to build up my fiction muscles.

To see the rest of this week’s stories, click on the little blue fella below.



+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Late Getting Home

Her cat, Henry, sat on the path looking resentful as she shut the gate. His mood wasn’t surprising, as she was late with his dinner.

She headed up the path with light steps. The spiders’ webs on the shaggy privet hedge, already heavy with dew, glistened in the moonlight.

She couldn’t help being late. It had been impossible to resist on such a serene, clear evening. She laughed as she wondered where the myth had come from that you needed a broomstick to fly. The views over the city had been simply stunning this evening.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – Late Getting Home" (24)

  1. Great story with a completely unexpected ending!

  2. The angry cat should have warned me. I like the twist at the end. Very clever. Thanks for dropping by mine and commenting.

  3. Very good, left me smiling.

  4. nice one Anne..great spin to reveal a character 🙂

  5. I don’t know. I’ve come home to a resentful cat before. Particularly if I went on a long trip. She would give me the furry cold shoulder. I didn’t see the end coming. A fun twist.
    You get the prize for spelling my name correctly. 😉

    • Hi Rochelle, thanks for stopping by. Great picture, I was amazed by the webs within the webs. And as you can see it made me think of Halloween and all things witchy.

  6. I don’t care what you write. Everyone knows you need a broom to fly. Call me a traditionalist and maybe I don’t like texting and ipads but writing that flying is possible without a broom is sheer rubbish. Now get off your high broom and get down to earth before I cast a spell on ye. . Randy

  7. Definitely fun and, as mentioned, with an unexpected ending, the best kind. I really liked “The spiders’ webs on the shaggy privet hedge, already heavy with dew, glistened in the moonlight.”

  8. Loved your story, particularly the ending twist. (I love witchy stories). To drop a subtle clue at the front you could introduce Henry with something like : Henry sat on the path, his black tail twitching in resentment as she shut the gate. That smooths up the first few words and cues us in that he’s a cat, and gives us a color cue but doesn’t give away the end. You could leave out the color if you think it does. Not sure how the re-arrangement would affect your word count though!

    • Hi Madison, thanks for stopping by, and for the suggestion. I tried a few options, but that is much better than anything I thought of. I rather liked this character and think she might get another witchy adventure one day.

  9. that’s how it’s supposed to be done. the last two sentences. next to last sets up the pins, and the last sentence knocks them down.

  10. nicely done, I was thinking, “a date”, ” a movie” — but flying is much preferred.

  11. Dear Anne,

    Your muscles are growing. Lovely tale with a perfect twist.

    Aloha,

    doug

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

