About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Here is the next extract from Be An Author. Previously we have met the contributors and found out how they first got the idea to write a book. Now we are going to take a look at the next step.

“Ideas are one thing; completion of a project is quite another. Even getting started can be a major challenge. So what affects the transition from inspiration to action? What made our authors take that brave first step?

What do you think made the difference between it being an idea and actually doing it?

Wendy : I felt I had to make a big leap – do something in order to forward my work. It put me on a new level to promote myself.
Sallyann : In relation to writing my novel – I was going through a rough patch, and realised that fiction had given me as much help as non-fiction in getting through that. That made me feel that fiction was just as valid as writing self-help books and that seemed to open the floodgates to writing my first published novel.
Linda : Leaving my job and deciding that I was going to work full time on The Hysterectomy Association – one of those ‘now or never’ moments and the thought that I might regret it if I didn’t do it.
Simon : It’s all down to belief. You’ve got to have an idea that enthuses you; that you can make live. One that you carry around with you, that’s never far from your thoughts and that you can’t wait to set down on paper. It may sound odd, but it’s like a relationship. You have to have love for your subject to make it work. And if you do, it’ll love you back.

I took the step from the idea to ‘doing it’ because I had an outside influence – my own life coach. She knew about my dream book and the idea of writing a book – even that it had some relationship to cancer because that was what my mother had died from. So she challenged me to start researching books on cancer – to see what was out there. I well remember the conversation that flipped the switch for me. I said to her “The trouble is that books about cancer are written by people who have survived cancer themselves, or people who work with cancer patients. I don’t have that kind of authority, but I will tell you what I do know. I know what it is like to be a family member – to sit on the sidelines not knowing how to help or who is going to help me!” That was it. As soon as I knew who the book was for, I knew I absolutely had to write it – the passion had arrived.”

Comments on: "Be An Author Extract – Getting Started, From Inspiration to Action" (1)

  1. […] which you can find through the links below: Meet the Contributors Getting Started, The First Idea Getting Started, From Inspiration to Action Traditional vs Self-Publishing Part 1 and Part 2 On Self-Publishing On ePublishing Part 1 and Part […]

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

