About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Welcome to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, who is the new host/boss of the fabulous Friday Fictioneers. This week’s photograph is also courtesy of Rochelle. My story this week is below the picture and if you would like to visit the other stories (you know you want to!) you can do this from Rochelle’s blog on the link above.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

After The Wedding

The bunting looks a bit limp and tired this morning. Mind you, I feel the same after Uncle Ian’s drunken ranting at 3am.

What on earth was George thinking, bringing his Mum in her state? No wonder she went for Peggy; flaunting herself with that new man, and at her age.

At least our Sandra and her Johnny thought the day went well. Better make sure there’s no evidence to show otherwise when they get home. Those disposable cameras seemed like a lovely idea; it’s a shame they catch alight so easy.

Now where did I leave the matches?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Crit is welcome as I am eager to learn, and I promise not to get stroppy πŸ™‚ Any visitors who also want to weigh in with the essential elements of fiction writing can do so here in order to help me out.

Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – After The Wedding" (40)

  1. Ahh tough morning. And families can be the worst… πŸ™‚

  2. Cute. You can see and hear these people slumped over the table.
    The link tool is up at http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/friday-fictioneers-2/

  3. Ah family members…well done

  4. Hi Anne,
    Very fun, gossipy story. Yes, destroy the evidence. Drunken rantings at 3 a.m. are best not remembered. Enjoyed it! Ron

  5. I could picture that scene and the aftermath, from your first line… in fact I think I have done a few of those 3 a.m. things myself at one time. It would be fun to see the pics… probably good she has matches…

    Here’s mine:http://tedstrutz.com/2012/10/25/displaced/?trashed=1&ids=1132

  6. Dear Anne,

    As hunter S. Thompson was famous for saying, “Got pictures? I deny it!”

    What a delightful story and one I’m sure will give rise to many weddings remembered by your readers.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Thankfully I’ve avoided any weddings quite like this, thought I do have some fun stories of my own πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by and the kind comment.

  7. Ah, the morning after the night before. We’ve all been there. Good idea about the matches. Does it work?

    • Oh yes Marilyn, the matches are very effective and the happy couple can’t quite understand how it could have happened, but their rose-tinted view of the day remains intact! Thanks for visiting.

  8. Sounds like a typical family wedding; at least the happy couple enjoyed themselves. Nice one Anne.

  9. You did an effective job of showing the sometimes random thoughts that can follow a big event. I think that suddenly having no “big” things to think about make it difficult to focus for awhile and the mind is free to think about all sorts of things.

  10. Oh those gossipy thoughts. Love to see the family. Love to see them go. Nicely done

  11. Sounds like an eventful event. Sorry I missed it. All the misadventures and drama will bring laughter twenty years down the road. Great little slice of life, Anne.

  12. ( laughing ) — that’s an interesting family!

  13. Weddings are strange events. Little mini stories clubbed in one. Quite nice!

    • Hi Parul, the thing I think is strangest is that it is all about the happy couple, and yet as a guest you hardly even get to speak to them. Which is why I thought they might have been completely unaware of all the dramas unfolding.

  14. Now I’m looking forward to your take on the annual Christmas party. Very engaging and oh so funny.

  15. I’ve heard of weddings such as yours and find them pretty comical. Didn’t know one can burn those cameras. Must remember that.

  16. I’m not sure I wouldn’t rather save the cameras for later. No telling how many useful pics might be on them πŸ˜‰

  17. The first line reminded me of a wedding I was at a couple of weeks ago, where we went along to help with the clearing up afterwards. The bunting looked tired after the day before and it seemed glad to be in the bin by the end of Sunday. Great piece and I wonder what the camera firesetter was hoping to prevent being seen. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Linda, the cleaning up has got to be the worst part, and the happy couple usually avoids it all don’t they? Only your imagination can provide the answer to what was on the cameras – and I know you have a great imagination πŸ˜‰

  18. Sounds like there were some good laughs on those cameras to be resurrected for the twenty-fifth….

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

