About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Another Friday, another story for Friday Fictioneers. Hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, this is a worldwide phenomenon where writers contribute a 100 word story on their blogs, based on the photo prompt of the week. To find out how to participate go to this week’s post on Rochelle’s blog, and prepare to have fun. To visit this week’s other stories, see the link below my story with a little blue creature on it. This week’s picture is copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and the usual restrictions apply.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Clearing

I close the door behind me and try to breathe. Light filters through frosted windows, leaving the still interior cloaked in gloom.
“Shall we get on with it, then?” Jack’s voice shatters the stillness. Why did I think I could come straight from the hsopital and make a start?
The sight of a puzzle book and a teacup still set neatly on a side table next to her chair almost stops my heart in my chest. The frosty air still holds talcum powder and home baked biscuits; the smells of my grandmother.
“We’ll come back tomorrow,” I reply.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – Clearing" (30)

  1. Dear Anne,

    This was ineffably sad and I don’t think tomorrow is going to be any easier. Great story, sad, but great.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. A heartbreaking and well told story of loss.

    • Thanks Rochelle, for some reason your picture made me think of granparents houses (what is that lace at the top, by the way?) and the frost just seemed like a metaphor to me.

      • The picture is part of my office window. the lace is part of my curtain’s valance. I took this a couple of years ago during a nasty ice storm. Couldn’t pass up the stunning ice patterns.

  3. There are many moments of “too soon”
    We think we’re ready but rarely ever are.
    it’s enough to realize that there is a change;
    it’s another then to physically make the change happen.
    So we leave well enough alone,
    Going home to mourn.

    teacups and talcum powder in the air, biscuits and books
    breathe in granny for a while longer

  4. I agree with Doug and Rochelle. Reaches right into the heart.

    • Thanks Janet. Glad you stopped by. I love all the twists and paramormal scenarios, but thought I would play it straight this week.

      • I think it’s good to be able to do a mix of styles, even if one is your favored one. When I first joined, I often felt as though I was the only one doing non-sci-fi, positive stories, so I like to see some of those, too. 🙂

    • Hi Abraham, yes it is sad, but if we didn’t feel that way it would be because we didn’t care. And it is better that we do. Thanks for visiting.

  5. I can feel the anxiety she’s going through. You captured it well!

  6. A sad story and clever take on the prompt.
    I wonder why we always think it will be easier ‘tomorrow’?

  7. Hi Anne,
    The tone of your story goes perfectly with the photo. I can only hope tomorrow brings some kind of miracle. Ron

  8. Poignant, and very well told.

  9. Sad but realistic. Something we all have to face one day. Well done.

    • Oh don’t. it’s supposed to be fiction, I don’t want to think about about doing this for real. But you’re right, we all face it sometime, grieving for someone.

  10. Sad, and close to my own fears… Great write.

  11. Really beautiful, Anne. Spoken from the heart and painting a very real picture. It came alive for me. I could see the room and taste the emotions in the air. Having been there many times (unfortunately) I can say the easier tomorrow is always further down the line than you expect it to be. The grieving process is like a roller coaster.

  12. You crafted strong sensory impressions here, especially in the mention of talcum powder. I felt right there beside you in that room.

  13. The Bumble Files said:

    Very sad and realistic. I don’t even want to think about it. Very effective, Anne. Nice job.

  14. time brings loss, this was a touching piece.

  15. I’ve been there and am close to being there again. Thanks for your story.

  16. Today, those smells may be too much but they will remind her of her grandmother for the rest of her life–even when they show up in the most improbable of places.Good story.

  17. You captured the process of facing life after a trauma with perfection.

  18. So sad. I hope this wasn’t a personal story.

  19. Tomorrow won’t be any easier but at least she will have someone with her. Been there, done that…but the difference is….it was my mother who never returned to her cozy apartment and I had to do it all alone. One never gets over it.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

