About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Posting early again this week – I think it’s getting to be a habit. I found the picture prompt for this week’s Friday Fictioneers a bit challenging, and rejected at least two directions before settling for this. As always, comments or suggestions are welcome. This week’s picture is courtesy of and copyright Doug MacIlroy. Thanks for making me scratch my head, Doug.

To find out more about Friday Fictioneers, visit Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. To read the other stories this week, click on the blue linky-blob and you’ll get the list, which will keep on expaning through the weekend and beyond.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

World Building

When I was a child, my mother called me selfish. Perhaps that is why I now spend time healing or caring for others. She also said I would never amount to anything, and perhaps she was right; unless you can call a happy marriage and raising two kids amounting to something.

In many ways, you could say my mother built my world.

I will not repeat the derision I was subjected to. I am always cheering my children on and celebrating every accomplishment. I wonder what kind of world I am building for them, and if they will appreciate it?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – World Building" (45)

  1. Thoughtful take on world-building.

  2. Real food for thought, Anne.
    Thanks for the lovely story.

  3. Very unique and great use of the prompt. I found this week’s photo to be extra tough lol.

  4. I promise you Anne..they will appreciate it and become better human beings because of it. I bet they will never find a reason to go into therapy to work out the damage of their childhood.

  5. I LOVED this! A Unique voice indeed. Strong men and woman fight the odds everyday. Celebrate each little win.

  6. i agree with all the comments, it’s a very unique take indeed… and it made me feel.

  7. I liked this – made me ponder for a while. In the ‘nature versus nurture’ debate I don’t think sufficient consideration is given to the concept that some children try NOT to be like their parents.

    • You’re right Sandra, many do indeed make that choice. I once saw a cartoon on a book cover which claimed that the result of making every parenting decision differently from her mother was that her daughter turned out exactly like Grandma. Hope that does not turn out to be the case for this character!

  8. Dear Anne,
    I hope this story is fiction for you. Shame on the MC’s mother. I have a friend who’s overcome the same type of maternal nurturing. Kudos to your MC and to you for another great story.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • Hi Rochelle, it is mainly fiction. The comment about being selfish is taken from my life and I just imagined a worse version of that. In fact my Mum was very keen (almost too much) that we could achieve anything, maybe because she had been talked out of higher education in favour of secretarial college which would be ‘more useful’. We have come a long way since then as a society, I am glad to say.

  9. I really like this, Anne. How much impact a few little words can have, particularly if repeated over and over. Thought-provoking and well-written. πŸ™‚

  10. After the start I’m a bit worried for the kids

  11. A fine creative and unique take on the prompt. I love the story

  12. Hi Anne,
    This has the real ring of truth to it. If it is fiction, it’s grounded in reality. Very inspiring piece. Ron

  13. You know, I had a co-worker who was a little too intelligent for his own good. When his wife got pregnant, one of my female co-workers (who resented his attitude somewhat) and was already a mom, just smiled at him and said, “Let the games begin!” Well done, Anne! As always, a wonderful read.

    • Hopefully he didn’t try playing his games on the kids. I once had a boss who seemed to out-bloke the blokes (which seemed to be what was needed to break through the glass ceiling, she was the company’s only female director) and when she was expecting we said ‘poor kid’ – but who knows how someone is at home?

  14. Anne,
    A sweet way to bring a child up but sometimes you get a rebel no matter what you do..perhaps all the sweetness will only create a child who takes advantage…one never knows. I hope not but life is strange. A piece to ponder for sure. I enjoyed this very much.

    Tom

    • Life can be like that can’t it Tom. Which is why she was wondering what effect her stlye of parenting would have. I do wonder about these things as you often hear that many outwardly successful people had terrible childhoods, which gave them a great degree of drive. But I still think it must be possible to be happy and successful based on a supportive childhood. Thanks for reading.

  15. Lovely write. πŸ™‚

  16. Oh, this story touched me. I should be thinking some of this too.

  17. We each build our own worlds based on the sum of our experience, those worlds will then become the basis of those that are created by those we interact and engage with, at every level, whether family, friend, acquaintance or passer-by – such is the nature of world building. You expressed it beautifully.

  18. you’re doing what feels right, and sometimes we learn “our” right by comparing to the “wrong” we’ve seen. it’s the best you can do. also – that last question mark – that’s not actually a question. just a period is needed. well done.

    • Thanks Rich. I wasn’t sure about the final question mark. I thought it might qualify as a rhetorical question, which I have read can have a question mark, but am happy to stand corrected.

      • rules are flexible in this. but to be technically correct, if you want the question mark, you can edit the end to

        “…and will they appreciate it?”

  19. backfromtheedge said:

    Sometimes, the moments when you realise how very different you are creep up slowly, especially when being different from them doesn’t require any effort. I think the MC already knows how much her children will benefit from feeling loved. Nice, uplifting story in the face of her underlying sadness.

  20. Excellent! I think that phrase ‘world-building’ will feature in my view of the subject of parenting from now on.

    • Thanks for stopping by Abraham, I’m glad you liked it. My son was shown a programme about feral children as part of a school topic about Family. Makes me realise how important the role of parent is all over again.

  21. Dear Anne,

    in the space of one minute just now you vaulted head and shoulders about all but a few of this week’s writers by producing one of the best stories this week. The answer is a resounding ‘Yes!’ her children will remember her and dedicate the worlds they build to her memory. No sweeter reward.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    P.S. you’re welcome for the head scratch.

    • Thanks Doug, your comment is much appreciated. Now I have to find time and inspiration to turn out something from this week’s mystifying picture. I’m off to do some sewing and see if the muse is prepared to put in some effort.

  22. The best kind of ‘world building’.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

