About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

I wrote this post a couple of years ago on my Cancer Fallout Zone blog, and it came back to me after the terrible events in Conneticut last week. I was going to write about the attitudes to guns in America, but instead I wanted to focus on what it brought home to me – all the families missing loved ones, not any more than they do every day, but made harder by other people preparing to enjoy a family Christmas. I went to my younger son’s last primary school play last night, and feel very much for parents who have not had the opportunity to do that this year. My thoughts are with you

Life in the Cancer Fallout Zone

The first Christmas after losing someone dear to you, is always hard. Those around you are celebrating, spending happy times with family – or moaning about how stressful it all is.
How can you deal with this time of year when there is such a gap in your life? It’s not too late to jump off the merry-go-round if you feel it is all becoming too much for you this year. Here are a few points to consider.

  • Don’t pretend that nothing has changed – it would be false to pretend that there isn’t a gap in your family. Even children want the loss to be recognised.
  • Consider abandoning the traditional celebrations. If you have lost someone dear to you this year, you don’t owe it to anyone to fake cheerfulness if you’re not ready for it. You may get invitations from well-meaning people to spend time with them because…

View original post 188 more words

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

