About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Here’s an interesting idea I thought I would share with you – a way to raise funds for your book project.

My friend Linda has created a project on Kickstarter to raise funds for her next book. Here is a video explaining why publishing the book matters:

And here is the link to the Kickstarter page where you can read more and support the project.

As a writer, I am interested in seeing how this works out. It’s not the first time I have been asked to contribute to a book project, but it is the first time I have decided to do so. The difference is that I can see the benefit of this project to the people who one day get to read the book. I also might one day be a person who wants to read it, though I might have supported it anyway – we all have women in our life that we care about, after all.

This makes me think that this approach would be best for books where you can demonstrate a clear benefit from producing the book. It might also work if you have a large circle who would be happy to support you and help you get going. Please let me know if you decide to support this project so I can thank you, and let me know if you also decide to use this approach.

Comments on: "Raise Funds for your Book Project" (2)

  1. Thank you Anne, I’m really chuffed that you decided to share my project on your blog and help me get it going. One of the problems is that the subject matter isn’t really one that captures most people’s imagination even though it will probably affect so many in the future. We’ll see if I can raise enough interest to get it funded 🙂

  2. […] Orchard wrote about raising funds for your book project. Anne is the author of two books, Their Cancer, your Journey and Be An […]

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

