About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

This is flash fiction on a Friday – otherwise known as Friday Fictioneers! Rochelle wisoff-Fields posts a picture prompt and writers from around the world offer a 100-word piece of flash fiction for the enjoyment of their readers and for the learning that results from putting their work out there and the occasional constructive criticism. Rules can be found at Rochelle’s blog. This week’s picture is courtesy of David Stewart, please respect his copyright. To visit this week’s other stories, click on the blue link-monster below my story. I don’t know what my genre would be this week, anyone with any suggestions please enlighten me 🙂



+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Stretch

Tony ‘Stretch’ Johnson loathed being tall. It was excruciatingly embarrassing being a head taller than all his friends – but at least they’d caught up a little in the last year or two.

Those friends were posing on the dance floor, while he slouched against the bar trying to be inconspicuous. As he turned to the barman, Tony was mesmerised by a sight that made him draw himself to his full height for once.

She must have stood six feet three in her stockinged feet – never mind the stilettos that gave her walk the gut-wrenching sashay. ‘Stretch’ had met his match.

100 words

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – Stretch" (26)

  1. You made me grin here. He’s found his soul mate then. 🙂 Well done.

  2. harryalston said:

    Cute story, it made me smile 🙂

  3. A match made in heaven. Lovely story 🙂

    • Thanks for visiting Celestine, I’m glad you enjoyed it. It would be nice to think there is someone that’s right for everybody, even if it’s not always so obvious.

  4. Oh, hooray, so lovely to read about a guy who can feel comfortable being himself. Nice one, Anne!

  5. Dear Anne
    This one made me say, “Aaaaaaw” I hope things work out for Stretch. I’m betting she’s had the same thoughts. Not many guys tower over a woman who’s 6’3″.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • Hi Rochelle, I think she must have had the same thoughts – or perhaps her parents helped her always believe in herself and stand tall? If I only knew I would share the secret as I’ve known a few ‘tallies’ who aren’t comfortable in their skin. BTW Pete says can I tell you sorry he hasn’t got time to be here this week. It’s all my fault as I persuaded him to volunteer to help with the refurb at our local library and it’s turned into far more work than expected. Hope he’ll be back next week.

  6. When I see tall people who slump, I want to tell them to stand up and be proud of their height. That will be easier for him now.

    Just one little typo–at the end of the first line…”at least” not “al.” 🙂

    janet

    • I agree with you completely Janet – unless they’re walking through a low doorway of course! Am trying to pass this on to my son, and occasionally it sinks in.
      Thanks for catching the typo, hope I’ve fixed it now.

  7. Fabulous! I love this story – I just hope tall girl likes tall guy 🙂

  8. The guy gets the girl for a change. Good one!

  9. There’s always some one for everyone. Wonderful story.

  10. I really enjoyed this – and now hopefully he won’t keep slouching through life.

  11. I enjoyed reading this one.

  12. I love a strong woman who has confidence enough to wear high heels even though she is super tall. He seems less confident than she. Opposites attract you know. Good story here.

  13. as a short girl married to a very tall guy… I love this. I’m always feeling guilty when he stoops to meet me. A great, romantic short.

  14. This was refreshingly solid – thanks for the good read! It takes a certain kind of woman to wear heels when she’s that tall to begin with, so I’d say Stretch has met his match and then some. Nice story!

  15. I love this. Hopefully it works out for him.

  16. Hi, Anne!

    Great thinking on the prompt! Neat. I stayed out this time, but HAD to see your writing on this. Good job!

    • Thanks for dropping by! I hope I didn’t disappoint – some of the stories this week have been very deep, which mine was not – but you have to go with your inspiration, don’t you.

  17. well done. we’ll see where it goes from here.

    this line: “She must have stood six feet three in her stockinged feet – never mind the stilettos that gave her walk…” consider – “She must have stood six feet three without the stilettos that gave her…” suggesting it because “stockinged” feels awkward.

  18. Good that he found his match after his hardships. made an interesting read:)

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

