About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

If you’re a regular reader, you might now that my husbad and I are following the 5:2 Intermittent Fasting eating programme which was featured on the Horizon television programme last year. I have been reading the book which follows up on the TV programme, The Fast Diet by Dr Michael Mosley and Mimi Spencer, and this bit of thinking comes out of something I read in there.

We know that exercise builds muscle, and apparently this happens because the muscle is damaged, which prompts the body to build more muscle so we become stronger. According to the book, this also applies to fasting (as applied in this diet). There is a technical name for this, but I can’t find it in the book this morning!

I’ve been thinking about how many other ways this applies in life. Where I work we are on the first floor, and we have plenty of people who don’t like coming up there. “I’m not good on stairs,” they say. Which is probably because they don’t climb them regularly, maybe because they live in a bungalow. It also applies to how the body adapts to altitude – the body has no reason to cope with low oxygen until we put it in that situation, at which point with a little time it can adapt. Coping with cold is another example. My Australian relatives are freezing if they come over to the UK, in contrast people who work outside often find centrally heated houses much too warm. Perhaps I should not complain so much about it being cold where I work!

Maybe this also applies to life’s challenges. Perhaps if life was always easy we would have no resilience for even little problems. And perhaps the problems that do seem to inevitably crop up are just exercise for our coping skills and give us an opportunity to build inner strength? I’m still not sure I’m ready to welcome every challenge life throws at me, but it has given me another perspective to think about. Your thoughts?

Comments on: "Thought for the Week – Gaining Inner Strength" (1)

  1. very interesting. I think I have had a lot of chances to use my coping skills. lol. I hope God knows I have tried to do my best.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

