About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

We’re trying something new this week on Friday Fictioneers. Pete challenged me to come up with a story that follows on from his. So whilst this can be read as a stand-alone story, you are invited to read Pete’s first, if you have not already done so.

For anyone who doesn’t know yet (where have you been?), Friday Fictioneers is a 100-word flash fiction challenge from a weekly photo prompt posted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Everyone is welcome to join in and it is lots of fun! I welcome constructive criticism, though you can say if you need folks to be gentle with you. This week’s picture is copyright Janet Webb over at This, That and the Other Thing. My story follows the picture, and below that you will find the link which will take you to all this week’s other stories. Visit as many or few as you can and simply enjoy the amazing variety of imagination on offer.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Project

The old barn that refused to be renovated was a great place to set up The Project. They smuggled in hundreds of latent psychokinetics and tons of equipment under cover of darkness. They experimented by fixing small portions of the building and monitoring the energy released as these areas restored themselves to their preferred dilapidation.

Next it was the turn of the psychokinetics. Applying the same energies, they gradually learned to control the very structure of matter. Finally it was time to show the world their abilities. Parting the Mississippi and walking from Missouri to Illinois ought to do it.

100 words

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – The Project" (26)

  1. Nice take on the photo prompt.

    • I am not one to read instructions. If I had I would of read Pete’s first, but I read yours. It’s still a nice take on the prompt. Only now I know the full scope of their powers.

  2. Interesting take.

    Shenine

  3. Ominous. I have to wonder who’s in control. That barn has a little more character I’d say than most Missouri barns. Fun take. I like that you and Pete worked together.
    Shalom from snowy Missouri,
    Rochelle

  4. This is terrific!

  5. Nice job on the dynamic duo writing!

    janet

  6. Clever idea…grandiose problem there!

  7. Like parting the Red Sea. I’d say that ought to do it. Like the take on the photo your collaboration worked out.

  8. Oh, I would love to see that parting of the Mississippi!!!

  9. I can use a couple kinetic powers in my stories if you can send them over.

  10. Wow. I love how unexpected this is as a sequel. Yet it works very well.

  11. Very different! And yes, that should do it… Nice work.

  12. Very cute, you and hubby collaborating. Almost make me wish I wasn’t single…ahahahaha.

  13. Uh-oh, now they are dabbling in biblical matters. I enjoyed the two part and feel like you did a great job even with a closed door from your partner.

  14. Oh really good. I loved the two parter! You ended it nicely.

  15. this was very good..the collaboration has worked well:)

  16. Kent Bonham said:

    Now, THERE are some going’s-on …
    Thanks, Anne, for taking me to the country. I’m looking for psychokinetics this time! 😉
    Good job!

  17. Great idea the parting of the Mississippi.
    I enjoyed reading this and it is a good take on the prompt
    Dee

  18. great continuation Anne. Do you think they could work their powers on my husband in his Lazy Boy. No matter how hard I try to clean him up, he always slumps back into that darn chair! 🙂

  19. Gotta love syfy. Nice job.

  20. A barn like that is sure to have powers. Next time I meet a barn it might not be the effect of tequila but it could be psychokinetics. 🙂

  21. A pass-around story. Hmmm…that might be something to start on one’s blog. I do something similar in class: I have the students write an opening paragraph from a prompt, then they pass it to another student who adds on to it. The trick in my class is that any given reader/writer only gets to read the paragraph right before theirs–at least in the current incarnation of the exercise.

  22. Very biblical Anne – were you inspired by another story perhaps 🙂 I liked it very much though and just wonder if that’s exactly where we are headed next.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

