About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Friday Fictioneers time, and another challenging photo prompt this week. Here is my flash fiction offering this week. Many thanks to those who visited and commented last week, For anyone who has not come across it before, you can find out more about Friday Fictioneers (and how to join in) at its home on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields blog. This week’s picture is from Beth Carter.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Home Made

He built the car from old parts – even the steering wheel had once operated a valve in their power plant. The others scoffed; what a pointless waste of time in this farming backwater!

He crafted individual pieces painstakingly from rare bits of scrap – saved for gradually from his labourer’s wage. Slowly it came together, until the day he drove through town, kicking up blue dust as heads turned with open-mouthed astonishment.

There had never been enough payload to spare for such non-essentials on the colonisation ships, but now the first car was running on Destrel more were sure to follow.

100 words – Genre Sci-Fi

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – Home Made" (46)

  1. You got a space story out of the car prompt. Way to go!

    janet

    • Thanks Janet, I’ll have to try to keep the sci-fi under control or it might take me over! Or perhaps this is a good outlet for those bits of my imagination πŸ™‚

  2. ‘Blue dust’ was the tipoff that something strange was coming… you didn’t disappoint. Good 100.

  3. Your story reminds me of what actually happened in some villages of north India. Farmers and local mechanics made cars and vans using scraps and engines they could find……. these were called ‘Jugaads’ locally.

    Enjoyed the read. πŸ™‚

  4. innovation – a hopeful thought here:) Thank you for sharing

  5. Scriptor Obscura said:

    I really liked this. Had to read it a couple of times to get it was a space story. Very nice. πŸ™‚

  6. Blue dust; certainly a sci-fi alert… πŸ˜‰
    My mind now wonders what ‘Destrel’ may be produced from..!?!

    • Scriptor Obscura said:

      I thought it was the name of the planet/star/asteroid/whatever they were living on. Could be wrong though. πŸ™‚

      • After re-reading I think you are absolutely correct..! πŸ™‚

      • Scriptor, you are dead right, Destrel is the new planet. But Carolyn now I look back I can see that it could be the name of whatever dreadful local moonshine the car has to run on. Just goes to show how difficult it is to be crystal clear in so short a piece. Thanks for reading.

  7. Kudos for taking the story somewhere else! Well done.

  8. Well here’s a turnaround. You’re writing sci-fi while I’m into sad stuff and your son is doing philosophy! Well done dear.

  9. That last sentence really ties this all together and makes the story. I read it and the scene suddenly changed in my mind. Wonderful story.

  10. Really enjoyed this story, an excellent and original take on the prompt.

    • Thanks, I’m really glad you liked it. Haven’t got to many other stories yet, but I’m guessing most of the cars are on Earth πŸ™‚

  11. That was a nice twist, moving the readers many parsecs by a single sentence. Very good

  12. Aaaahhh..a pioneer!

  13. Definitely an original for this week.

  14. wow really very imaginative. great story πŸ™‚

  15. Dear Anne,
    I enjoyed this. Didn’t see the sci fi aspect until the end. Nice touch. Put me in mind of a few my favorite shows and movies. Nicely done and well written.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  16. this was really fun, a nice take on the prompt. where others saw the blue dust as unusual, it took me right to our gravel roads in virginia when the weather is dry and hot. That blue dust coats the leaves of the trees on dirt lanes that travel through the mountains. I enjoyed your story Anne.

    • That’s amazing – I didn’t think we had blue dust here. Do you know what causes it to be blue? A particular kind of rock? Here on the Jurassic coast we have cliffs made of clay they call Blue Lias, but I don’t know why that is, either.

      • the gravel in our part of Virginia is made from Blue Granite. The rock quarry is not far from our house in a place called Red Hill. Ha, you’d think it would be named Blue Hill, but we also have that good old Virginia red clay, so it’s only fair I guess.

      • Well, I guess my planet must be made of something pretty similar to Blue Granite then! Sounds like you live in a Purple Place πŸ˜‰

  17. that was awesome – I wish I could be a pioneer.

  18. well done. i’m curious as to why it was “blue dust.” is there a chemical significance to that?

    • If only I’d done that much research Rich! It was just a colour I thought couldn’t be on earth, but maybe I was wrong about that πŸ™‚ I love that we learn so much from the feedback to our stories.

      • that’s that idea, instead of just “nice job.”

      • That’s right – Pete and I are both on board for the learning. Even if we sometimes argue πŸ™‚

      • i left a suggestion this morning for someone, and i was then told that i basically have no imagination.

      • C’est la vie! Not all writers are ready to hear what their readers think. I think it can take a while to get used to the fact that not everyone thinks the same as ourselves. And your suggestions are welcome here – I just don’t promise to always agree with them. Makes for a more interesting discussion.

      • sure does. thanks.

  19. Really enjoyed this sci-fi outing. Where else would you get a hand-guilt car?

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

