About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

This week I have been looking back. I want to write about how I came to be on what I’ve decided is a spiritual adventure for the introduction in my next book.

For the beginnings to many things in our life we can look back to our childhood, but I think this is really an exception for me. I was brought up in a fairly religious family, and to begin with I felt very involved with and committed to the church. I think this began to change in my teens. In our Sunday services we were required to read something called The Confession. I found myself reading the words on the page which spoke of specific sins a person might have committed and inwardly disagreeing. In my early twenties I learned some things about the way the people who ran the church organisation were treating people which did not seem in keeping with the teachings they were claiming to promote, and that further led me to believe the church was not for me. Since then I have had little to do with organised religion. So I don’t think my spiritual interests began in childhood.

The next thing I remember that’s relebant was visiting a homeopath for help with my son’s health. The man I consulted joked with me to be careful as in his experience that those who turn to homeopathy often find themselves starting on a spiritual path. This sounded quite unlikely to me, but I can’t deny it’s exactly what happened.

Soon after this I had my first significant spiritual experience, whilst driving back from a networking meeting through the Peak District. Nothing much changed in my life then, but I was reading more and some personal development courses took me further into spiritual experiences. Now, living in a new area with a thriving community exploring these areas, I have found both support and the opportunity to talk openly about the ways I am now thinking. Now I am getting into my stride, and can only imagine what is still to come in this adventure.

So, do I think it is impossible to be on a spiritual adventure whilst being involved in an organised faith? No, not at all, it just didn’t happen that way for me. I do think it is necessary, though, for the spiritual adventure to happen on the inside – it can’t just come from accepting what you are taught. So that is why it often can’t be from childhood, as we don’t start out by questioning what we are taught. But perhaps your experience is different, and you don’t agree.

I would love to hear how others got started on their current path, whatever that is. Please share what you think were the significant factors in sending you in this direction. You can either leave me a comment below, or else send me an email. I’d be very glad to hear from you.

Comments on: "How Did Your Spiritual Adventure Start?" (9)

  1. I’m laughing at your subtext: no spirituality in the Peak District. It’s still the same…

    • Oh yes! I bet there is really, it’s just closeted deep in people’s hearts because they would be laughed at if they spoke out. This is the kind of thing I’m aiming to help with in the book, if it’s possible. Perhaps there is hope even for the Peak District, which I remember as a beautiful but untimately depressing place to live.

  2. I was reflecting on my childhood church going experiences the other day – and I remember thinking “none of this makes sense”. I was extremely puzzled by others’ apparent understanding and acceptance of what it was we were supposed to be singing and praying about. I tried hard to acquire the same level of understanding they seemed to have but for me it didn’t work. In my teens one of my dearest friends was the daughter of an evangelist vicar and I spent a weekend with her trying really hard to “get it”. But again it didn’t work for me and ultimately put a rift in our friendship. My earliest “spiritual” experience I remember happened aged about 9 or 10 after I’d got into trouble at school and I heard myself saying – if only people would listen to what I have to say then they’d understand. This wisdom came from somewhere deep inside me and it surprised me enough to stay with me to this day. I’ve always been aware of my own powers of resilience – which I guess is a spiritual thing – and at age 18 I had a transcendant experience where I felt the trees outside my bedroom window were telling me not to worry about anything, that I was safe and that everything would be OK. So in answer to your question I think I’ve always been spiritually aware – and never in a religious sense. In fact the religious encounters I’ve had have only served to confuse me. Thanks so much for posting this and giving me an opportunity to reflect.

    • Hi Juliet, after I posted this yesterday I realised that of course a lot of people are spiritually aware in childhood, and you gave me a good example of that. I truly believe that is is internal spirituality that is going to change the world within the next few decades, and the more we talk about what we believe the sooner that will happen. So thanks for joining in the conversation 🙂

  3. Hi, I think reiki healing first got me on the path. I also visited a homepath due to my ill health and she directed me to the book ‘The Power of Now; and it all went from there!

    • It’s interesting to hear that your path came from a similar route to my own. I’m tempted to think that spirituality might be catching, until I remember my family who seem to be steadfastly immune!

  4. My views are similar to yours. I was raised catholic. In school the nuns use scare tactics to make us behave. As I got older I rejected those beliefs not knowing why. I started studying Islam but didn’t find that to attract me either no did any organized religion. I started reading books on Kaballa and the mysticism that it introduced lead me to the spiritual study I prescribe to. I believe my God is good and wants us to treat each other in kind. To respect all living things.

    • We were talking about this at my healing group last night Kim. It’s really so straightforward, be generous and kind to other people, and to the natural world. Or as Bill and Ted would put it ‘Be excellent to each other’. So simple really, is the day coming when that becomes the norm?

      • That is my prayer. I love Ted and Bill. My kids and I use to watch it every time it came on even though we had the video. 🙂 My saying is what the beauty queens answer to what they want. I want world peace. It will make for a better world for my grandchildren.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

