About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Another week and another intriguing flash fiction prompt in the entertainment that is Friday(ish) Fictioneers. You too can join in this fun activity if you check out the rules on our esteemed host Rochelle’s blog. And so without further ado, here is the inspirational picture, from Lora Mitchell. My story follows, and then you will find the linky critter who looks after all the week’s stories so uncomplainingly. Click on him to view this week’s other offerings.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tomorrow

“What’s with the pot plant, Dan?”

“It’s for my mother, when I see her tomorrow.”

“Are you sure about lilies? Aren’t they for funerals?”

“Well, how would I know that? Don’t be mean to me Rach. I just wanted something to give her.”

“Sorry.”

“Did you know it was snowing like this the day I was born?”

“Thirty years ago tomorrow. Your mother should be giving you a gift, though. She’s missed twenty-nine birthdays already.”

“All I want is for her to look me in the eye and tell me one good reason why she gave me up.”

“I know.”

100 words

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – Tomorrow" (27)

  1. I hope he gets his answers. Very good.

  2. Yeah, I’d like to know the answer to that question myself.

    • I wonder if you will get to find out? I’m sure there are several reasons which if not exactly good ones are at least understandable. I hope that society is mostly more supportive these days. Thanks for reading.

  3. How sad! And there are so many who have to go through this.

    janet

  4. Why did she give him up? Hope the answer is good cause he may be giving her lilies for a reason.

  5. Well crafted story, with the main character in a lot of pain. Hopefully there can be a sequel that finds him pleasantly surprised when his biological mother reveals her reasons.

  6. a very emotional story… very real for some.. very well-written…

  7. JackieP said:

    really good take on the pic

  8. sentimental. good story

  9. That’s a sad one. But she should tell him… Well done.

  10. Nice moody piece. Looking forward to the next installment.

  11. This is so sad and painful 🙂

  12. petrujviljoen said:

    Well written. Could learn from the use of dialogue here. Thanks for writing.

  13. What a heartfelt post. He deserves the answers.

  14. Sad story…well written.

    Tom

  15. Dear Anne,
    Well written dialogue with a strong story between the lines. Good job.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  16. How well you succeeded to describe the pain of a son who was never loved. But not giving up is a good thing

  17. I hope he is not so confrontational when he sees her.

  18. Hello Anne, I must admit until this week’s FF I never knew about the association between Lillies and death. Good story. 🙂

  19. Anne, you’ve done it again! I enjoyed this thoroughly. Everything crisp, concise and SO nailed down. Thanks!

  20. Touching and sad. Hope he gets his answer … I am puzzled. I don’t understand why most of the FFictioneers see Lilies as representing death. It’s more an Easter lily which represents rebirth…and the Resurrection…Taken from the Bible…”Lilies of the Field.”

  21. Wow, I didn’t see that one coming at all. Perhaps there is a subtle, unknown message in the lilies after all. 🙂

  22. Really felt the sadness in this piece.

  23. […] Friday Fictioneers – Tomorrow (anneorchardwriter.wordpress.com) […]

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

