About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

FF – Feel The Fear

Another week and a new look at Anne Orchard central. I really struggled with an idea for the story this week, I have no idea why. So this week’s Friday Fictioneers offering has only tangential reference to the picture prompt. This week’s picture is from Doug MacIlroy, so please respect his copyright. All the instructions for taking part in this 100-word flash fiction blog challenge can by found at the blog of our esteemed leader, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. This week’s other stories are found by clicking on the blue fella under my story. And finally you will see a request from me for some assistance if you are visiting before Saturday and you can spare me a few moments.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Feel The Fear

A garden hose in the yard would have Jessie howling like a banshee. She was terrified of snakes when she was little.

Mom said she’d gotta get over it, so we could go camping. She’d have a panic attack thinking of rattlers. They took her for hypnotherapy and soon enough she was a volunteer in the reptile house at Phoenix Zoo. Next it was college – herpetology she called it.

She discovered two new kinds of snake in the rainforest. She called me to brag. Then she got bitten.

Now we’re biting our fingernails waiting to see if she’ll pull through.

100 words

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Please let me know what you think of my new look (and my story!) in the comments below. And if you have a moment I’d be very happy if you could help me out by downloading a free copy of my book on Kindle before the end of Friday. All the details are here. Many thanks.

Comments on: "FF – Feel The Fear" (29)

  1. Now this is a different take on the prompt. Nothing like getting over a phobia the hard way.

    • Well, she might have thought it was worth getting over the phobia before the snake got her. I have a mother-in-law who is well and truly phobic about snakes, but just avoids them as much as possible. Nightmare few months when son declared he wanted to get one as a pet, but thankfully it passed 🙂

  2. Oh dear, perhaps she had a feeling of what was coming. I’m glad you found a way to work from the prompt.

  3. First things first-downloaded the book and I love the clean look (and the color, which Rochelle will love, of the blog.) Now for the story. I’ll be right back.

    I like that focused on something other than the horse (and that’s within “the rules”, whatever those are.) I guess the hypnotherapy worked extremely well!

    janet

    • Thanks so much Janet 🙂 I have never done a Kindle giveaway before and am fascinated to see what it does for the book’s ranking once the promotion finishes. It does seem the hypnotherapy worked rather excellently on this occasion, though she may live (or not) to regret it.

  4. I like that you saw something else in the prompt to write about. It’s the differences that are interesting. Hope she pulls through. 🙂

    • Thanks jw, haven’t got any info on whether she makes it or not, guess we’ll all have to write the ending for ourselves. It would be a shame if she paid the price for overcoming her fears.

  5. I love original takes and this is one. I believe we should write whatever comes to mind when we see the prompt. Kudos to you for following your gut.

    • Thanks t-w. I learned from my hubby Pete that when inspiration is slow in arriving to sit and note down what you see in the picture. One of the things I wrote was ‘hose – someone could think it was a snake’. And thus a story was born.

  6. Interesting take.

  7. It’s great that you saw something else in the picture. Maybe I should have gone down that path. 🙂

  8. Dear Anne,
    Blessings on you for taking a flying leap from the proverbial box. I hope the girl pulls through. Clever, refreshing and unique take on the prompt.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  9. loved the creativity… great thinking on the prompt !

  10. Oh, Wow… Last night, I was flipping channels and on one there was a close up of a python. I screamed and flipped the channel. My Hubs started cackling with laughter saying,

    “It’s on the tv, dear. It can’t hurt you.’ Guffaws followed

    ‘Revenge is hell, Hubs.’ I responded…after all, I have friends who can play with his computer really bad, then we’ll see who screams!

  11. Yikes! That is quite the turnabout. Poor Jesse. I hope she pulls through!

  12. A great story and a very different take on the prompt – it may be the only one I’ve read that didn’t feature the horse! Excellent and refreshing 🙂

  13. Reading Anne Patchett’s “State of Wonder” set in the Amazon and just finished an incident involving an anaconda so your post hit home. Good story.

  14. […] Friday Fictioneers – Feel The Fear (anneorchardwriter.wordpress.com) […]

  15. Brilliant!
    Well written, neat twist.

  16. Oh — my —GOODNESS! This works well, Anne! Excellent job. I would have thought of you living in Arizona, but, no! THIS is what good writing is … out of the box, as Rochelle put it.

  17. Hi Anne,
    Good story. Maybe it’s a good idea to pay attention to premonitions. I can relate to your struggle to come up with a story. Some weeks, it seems very difficult, while other weeks an idea pops in almost immediately. Your muse could just be on vacation this week. Anyway, you came through brilliantly. Ron

  18. What a surprising tale of irony.

  19. Dear Anne,

    Thanks for your lovely e-mail re my friend Mystic. Meant a lot to me. You make me want to go out and get a Kindle or an iPad, but if Janeet likes it, you know it’s good.

    I kept snakes as pets for several years when i was young so I enjoyed your story.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  20. She went from one extreme to another–talk about a fear/love relationship. Too bad the snake didn’t see it the same way.

  21. Once you’re over a phobia it goes to the next extreme. Very good to see you could work with the prompt. 🙂

  22. Definitely a different take on this prompt. Hope she pulls through. I HATE snakes! Did the horse put it there on purpose? Hmmm.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

