About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Well, I managed to post a story last week, but that was about as far as it got. Thank you very much to everyone who visited and apologies for not returning the favour. I’m a bit more ‘present’ this week so should manage to get around some of the stories.

For anyone not already aware, this is Friday Fictioneers, a writing challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Simply write a hundred word piece of flash fiction based on the photo prompt. This week’s prompt (courtesy of Janet Webb) is shown below, and full details are at Rochelle’s blog. As always I welcome your comments and constructive criticism.

Copyright Janet Webb

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Escape

Dark. Confinement. Panic.

She struggled in the tight space, knees and elbows scraping walls inches from her body.

Nothing told her where she was or how she got here. Reaching forward, the wall felt flimsier. She heard noises on the other side. Should she risk trying to break out?

Warily she picked at one edge. The first tiny hole let a spear of sunlight into her prison. Cautiously she broke down the rest of the opening and wriggled out of the space.

There was a flash of translucent wings.

β€œHi, I’m Tink. Race you to the bluebells. Stretch your wings!.”

100 words

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – Escape" (47)

  1. Oh, hello, Tink! Very well done. (Clap your hands if you believe….)

  2. This is just lovely. Each sentence, it is alive for me.

  3. and so soared Tink to freedom ! πŸ™‚

    • Yep, Tink is leading the way for her to try out her wings for the first time. Not sure if it came through who was speaking, but I had to cut a lot this week.

  4. Mystikel said:

    I take it that she is a fairy newly born from a honeycomb? This is so creative. I really enjoyed this piece.

  5. Oh, I so went “Mysterious Island” on that…
    Like Tink much better.
    Scott
    Mine: http://kindredspirit23.wordpress.com/2013/04/18/friday-fictioneers-4192013-genre-sci-fi-pg/

  6. This was lovely; a true blossoming of life and the reference to bluebells is a stroke of genius – so evocative.

  7. Yay for Tink – and for breaking the rules and going with faeries. πŸ˜€ Love this, Anne. πŸ™‚

    • Rules, what rules? πŸ˜‰ Much prefer fairies to wasps, and they have just been waiting for the right prompt.

      • After I sent the comment, I caught myself thinking the same thing! You know what I meant, though. πŸ˜€

        Oh yes, fairies are much better. I’d rather have them in the house than the wasps we had between the floorboards last year …. *shudder*

  8. Sounds like a world of adventure ahead.
    Denmother

  9. An inventive take on the prompt. The first part really described well the closeness of the walls and the darkness… it made me feel the fear and bewilderment of the character. And what a surprise at the end!

  10. A very cute and clever story. How fun!

  11. I suspected something sinister at first and was surprised at the way ti turned out.

  12. Lovely and uplifting. This story really put a smile on my face πŸ™‚

  13. kdillmanjones said:

    Thanks for the joyful story on such a gloomy week!

  14. You took this to an entirely different path to what I had been expecting up until the second last sentence. Wonderful! I loved it πŸ™‚

  15. Dear Anne,
    Clever and imaginative story. I’ve always been a sucker for a good fairy tale. I was, however just a tad confused about whether or not the wings were hers or someone else’s. Nonetheless I got the overall idea that she was awakening and breaking free of her cocoon. Nice one.
    shalom
    Rochelle

    • I lost clarity in the cutting I think Rochelle. With more time to think. perhaps I could have had ‘a flash of translucent wings approached.’ Thanks for the feedback.

  16. Lovely story, especially the start, which suggested it was going to be grim, and then literally the light broke in.
    Claire

  17. I wondered where you were taking us when I started to read. Loved what you did with this really

  18. Nice take, Anne. I think wasp nest would feel like a prison. You had me guessing until the very end!

  19. A sweet, good-feeling fairytale. Tink…Bluebells…Free to try out her wings and become …Tinkerbell?? Lovely idea.

    • Thanks Lora. I lost clarity in the cutting. Tink was supposed to be another fairy, coming to help her after she’s just ‘hatched’, but I didn’t quite manage to get that clear in the words I had.

  20. Very nice take on this prompt, Anne. Truly creative.

    • Thank you Sandra. Some weeks the ideas do come. The fairies have been knocking on the doors of my mind a little while, and this prompt worked for them. I wonder if they’ll be back another time?

  21. Amazing that you can make the wasps look cute…

  22. Very cute tale about being born. Race ya, Tink!

  23. That was a joyful 100 words.

  24. I like the transition from the horror and dark mood of the first line to the playfulness of the last one. Quite a journey of birth.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

