About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

Welcome to Friday. Today the sun is shining, and I have another little offering for Friday Fictioneers, the 100-word flash fiction challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. I am still trying to stick to exactly one hundred words, which gives me practice at editing! No fairies this week, just general fiction. This week’s photo prompt is courtesy of Claire Fuller, so please respect her copyright, and if you fancy joining in, the rules can be found at Rochelle’s blog.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Skills

He was always a climber, my son Robbie. At two, he’d drag over a chair to raid the fridge. By three he made it onto the kitchen counter and into every cupboard. I saved him from being crushed when he scaled the bookshelf just for the hell of it.

I thought he’d become a mountaineer, or join the circus as a high-wire walker.

Instead I’m squirming on a hard plastic chair at the police station. He was seen climbing out of a window at the Ritz after relieving some duchess of her diamonds – never did think of the consequences.

100 words

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Comments on: "Friday Fictioneers – Skills" (47)

  1. Dear Anne,
    This story is rich and started my day with a hearty laugh. Guess you could say that Robbie was something of a social climber. Good one!
    Shalom
    Rochelle

  2. The boy has aspirations… Well done, you made me laught this morning.

    • His aspirations have outstripped his ability on this occasion, but I expect he’ll get some good tips from his new friends in the nick. Thanks for visiting Sandra.

  3. I agree with Rochelle and Sandra. Well done.

  4. haha loved this story.. the 3 parts, the one abt this climbing antics at an young age, the mother’s prediction about his future and the finale a perfect story !

    • I hadn’t consciously thought about how it was three stages, but it does work. Might do it on purpose next time πŸ™‚ Thanks for your lovely comment.

  5. What has he turned into? A lovely story; good laugh

    • What has he turned into? An inept thief apparently. She obviously should have brought him up to have more pride in his work. I was reading about the ‘Superthief’ who used to reset the alarm after stealing someone’s jewels, so most of the time they thought they had lost them, or blamed a family member! He only got caught because he was daft enough to team up with someone less professional, who messed up, got caught and squealed on him. My boy will have to up his game if he wants to get to that level.
      Thanks for reading.

  6. Hahaha! Oh, what a tangled web we weave …
    I guess had he actually READ the books he climbed on, he would have come across The Count of Monte Cristo. Good job, Anne!

  7. Ditto all. πŸ™‚

    janet

  8. I guess he was destined for the heights, and the lows!

  9. […] Friday Fictioneers – Skills (anneorchardwriter.wordpress.com) […]

  10. Brilliant twist… and I guess a social climber is now out of the question.

  11. Oh, this is good!

  12. Very well done, I love the twist, I never suspected where the story was headed…

    • Thanks Lily, glad you liked it. When I read a story back to myself I can’t be sure if it will work because of course I know the ending. So it’s good to get feedback.

  13. HI Anne
    A perfectly structured story here – a clear beginning, middle and end – which makes it very satisfying to read. I thought this was brilliant – and funny too!

    • Thanks el, yes I realise now that it does, but admit I did not think of it that way while I was writing. Perhaps it becomes second nature after a bit of practice? I’m glad it has made people laugh.

      • I think it does become second nature after a while. It’s also much easier to analyse someone else’s writing than your own – but the lessons you learn have an impact on your own work. Which is what makes FF so great – we’re improving our own writing without realising it!

      • True indeed, before I started this I was not sure I would ever attempt fiction, now I at least have a brief outline of a novel, and the confidence that one day I will get to writing it.

  14. Poor guy. Now he can practice scaling fences in prison. πŸ™‚

  15. Well, at least he aimed high with the duchess. Always climbing one way or another! Nice story, Anne.

  16. Where, oh where are the diamonds? Perhaps Robbie’s not so dumb after all–a couple of years and he’s out and on the gravy train.

  17. I can see this. Unsuspecting mothers. πŸ™‚

    • Behind every criminal is a mother who doesn’t believe it of her baby. Either that or a mother who doesn’t care. I wonder which is truer to life?

  18. I have a feeling mama didn’t punish him enough to teach him a lesson when he was young. So …he grew up thinking he could get away with anything and mama would be right there to bail him out. Sorry kid, not this time. lol.

    • Hmm, deep thoughts Lora. As a mother your instinct is to protect your child, but I guess that doesn’t always do them any favours. And I sure think Robbie is going to learn the hard way this time.

  19. That’s funny πŸ™‚ but it’s a shame he aimed so high, they might have gone a bit lighter on him for a first offence, but a Duchess? I think he’s going away for a while.

    • You’re right Trudy. His ambition has outstripped his ability. No doubt she’ll pull strings and get him the maximum sentence. Glad it made you laugh.

  20. Robbie had a need to be on top of things. I am afraid the ceiling will be much too low to satisfy his desires behind the iron bars!

    • Yes, he really should have thought it through, shouldn’t he? That’s the trouble with the kids of today, no thought for tomorrow (joking)!

  21. I think he’s done very well, to develop the skills to steal from a duchess. There aren’t many of them and they’re not particularly accessible/scalable. I hope you do a sequel: where, on release from prison, he uses his skills as a robber, to rob for good causes.

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

