About Writing, Life and Writing About Life

It’s almost a year since I started this blog, when I had an idea of what my next book would be about. Reflecting on the progress I’ve made, the truth is that there is not much to show for that year. I found myself over the weekend wondering just how many times I will need to refocus and attempt to get myself organised (you may have read about some of my efforts here over the year, but none of them have been the magic answer).

My first thoughts were that I am human, and ordinary, and fallible. And that I will refocus and reorganise just as many times as it takes. That life will continue to get in the way, and I will carry on struggling to fit into my life all the things I want to get done.

Then I decided (helped by the inspiration card I drew this morning from the Ascended Masters deck) to forgive myself. This has freed me up to see a few other things. I have achieved something this last year in finishing my second book Be An Author. I even have my self-publishing download finished, and just need to add it up on this blog. I also have made progress on that book idea. Even though there is not much on paper, I have been thinking about it, learning, and having ideas about what will go in there. Oh, and then there is beginning my training to become a registered healer.

So before I force myself to charge on forward I think it is time to get a little clarity about what is most important for me to achieve in the next year. I have a feeling it is important to aim for less and that way I will achieve more and feel better about myself. I’ve asked a friend to help me with this getting clear as it’s sometimes easier to talk things over.

How about you? What do you need to forgive yourself for so that you can decide where you are going? I know this is not a traditional time of the year for this kind of reflection, but the calendar can’t dictate when that clarity is needed. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Comments on: "Thought for the week – Forgiving Yourself" (8)

  1. I think this is so true! It’s easy to forget that life is not just about doing and ticking off tasks. As human ‘beings’ we do need to live life, reflect, go through things, stop, wait, think, remember, believe, daydream … Everything we experience and learn contributes to the unique person that is you (or me), and that in turn affects the words we leave on a page, phrases that no-one else can create in quite the same way . . .

    Ron and I decided some time ago that, whilst The Lazuli Portals is a business, at the same time we will not rush, not push, not pressure ourselves to do what might simply need a little extra time, a little extra space. Then the words we eventually write will be the ‘right ones’ at ‘the right time’. And in the meantime, we are happy and not stressed! 😀

    So, to answer your question, I think I probably forgive myself a little every day, for those things I thought I ought to have done, but for which the timing wasn’t quite right. … and I also reckon your decision to aim for less will be a good one. 😉

    • Taking it slow, and getting it right is a good theme Joanna. I also think there is something about place that will be important. It is sometimes challenging to be creative at home surrounded by all the ‘stuff which should be done’. I’m looking forward to working with my friend/coach and getting ready to move forward again. Daily forgiveness sounds like a helpful attitude, harking back to our ideas of love, as it shows love to yourself.

  2. Thanks for the visit.

    Excellent stuff 🙂

  3. […] I’ve been adding here in the last few weeks. As I wrote a couple of weeks ago, I needed to forgive myself for that. I also needed clarity about which direction to go in, in several areas of my life. For […]

I love to hear from anyone and everyone, so do let me know what you're thinking

